Description
From its very beginning, King’s Cross goods yard had a staff food facility – this developed into the ‘Goods Station Refreshment Club’ sometime between 1873 – 1884, continuing to grow in size into the last century. We have a model of this building on our 2mm scale layout, Copenhagen Fields. The prototype building was demolished by 1970, but during recent archaeological excavations a significant number of remains of Refreshment Club mugs were found, stylishly decorated with red banding and a transfer-printed circular ‘G.N.R.’ logo *.
The Club has now had fine china plates made with the characteristic banding and motif. At 207mm diameter they are a good size and an ideal companion to our mugs.
*more details in the book ‘An Immense and Exceedingly Commodious Goods Station’ by Haslam & Thompson.